21. Doggerel

 I am Caroline’s dog. She’s out of town.

When she’s not around, it gets me down.

I sleep too much but dream of herding

sheep or the neighbors or birding

the backyard. Caroline says I’m a good girl

and so I am. Good girl. I am a pearl

of great price, pearl also a color of my fur

mixed in taupe. Did I mention I love her?

Love her, love her, it’s all I can think,

love her ankles passing by, love her stink

oh, her stink. That guy of hers is here

but it’s not the same. He’s ok but has no hair.

I could love him if he didn’t love her more.

I track him carefully. He touches her.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

